Newlywed Natterings: Tips for Getting What You Want from a Marriage

Tawny: “I think I’d like you to start putting gas in my car for me from now on.”
Hubby: “No–I don’t want you to ever be one of those people who doesn’t know how to put gas in the car if I should die. You need to keep doing that.”
Tawny: “True… I suppose I AM likely to forget even though I’ve been doing it for 20 years now. Well, I don’t want you to be one of those people who doesn’t know how to do dishes if I die so you probably need to start doing them from here on out. Also, I don’t know if you know how to mop or vacuum–I’ve never seen you do either. I’m worried I could die and you won’t know how so let’s add those to your list too.”


Hubby: “FINE! I will put gas in your car!”

And that’s how you get what you want.

Leave a comment